Institute of Civil Protection and
Emergency Management
Uniting Academics with Professionals to
Promote Excellence in Civil Protection



The ICPEM annual award has been established in order to recognise significant contributions in the field of emergency management.

The intention of the Committee in giving this award is to provide formal recognition of activities undertaken which are in keeping with the aims and objectives of the Institute and also to encourage further activities in fulfillment of these.

Guidelines/Rules for the Award

The Executive Council of the ICPEM shall act as Awards Committee and shall consider nominations for the award on an annual basis.

Nominations for the award may be based on contributions to the field in various forms, including research activity/publications, programme and policy advancement and/or professional development of the field. The form of contribution is deliberately non-prescriptive in recognition of the fact that contributions to this field may vary while still meeting the broad intentions of the award.

In order to be considered for an award a nominee's work must be evidenced through a written nomination (see attached nomination form: Appendix A).

  • Nominators and nominees need not be members of the Institute.
  • The awards committee will itself generate nominations as well as obtaining them in whatever way it deems feasible from the broader emergency management community
  • Anyone wishing to be considered as a nominee themselves must be supported by a formal nominator
  • Members of the Awards Committee may not be considered for the Award during their time of office
  • A nominee considered one year but not given the award is eligible in future years
  • There will be no more than one award a year.
  • While possible nominees are to be considered every year, no award need be made if the Committee decide that none of the nominations in any given year meet the established criteria

Criteria for Evaluating Nominations

A nomination will be considered eligible for this award on the basis of the extent to which the awards committee is satisfied that it meets the following criteria:

  1. The nominee presents a clear statement supporting the view that that the work of the nominee fulfils the aims and objectives of the IPCEM in part or full. These are:To promote public safety and to protect the lives and property of citizens of the world by:
  2. Promoting study and research into the causes and effects of disasters and civil emergencies; and how best to respond to such incidents; and publicising the useful results of such research; and
    • Promoting education and training of members of emergency services, other responders, and the public, in the skills to deal with such emergencies.
    • Pressing for the highest possible standards of professional practice.
    • Promoting the development of emergency management internationally as a profession.
    • Supporting, encouraging and assisting in the development of vocational and academic courses of professional studies and research at under- and post graduate levels.
    • Facilitating the interchange of ideas regarding the theory and practice of emergency management and the communication and publication of information on such subjects of interest to members and the profession.
    • Representing the views of its members to governments and other responsible bodies.
  3. The nomination includes appropriate references/evidence in support of the statement.
  4. The nominee is not a member of the Awards Committee.

Presentation of the Award

Details of the winner will be announced at the Annual Conference and presented with a prize consisting of a year's free membership of the Institute (if a member), a cash prize of £300 and the Welsh Crystal Trophy.

The decision of the Awards Committee shall be final. Any matter not set out in these principles, such as the specifics of the criteria used in making the award, are left to the discretion of the AwardsCommittee.

pdf  ICPEM Award of Excellence Nomination Form (39.64 kB)

Award of Excellence Winners

Previous recipients have been:


2005      Steve Gregory

2006      Muriel McClenahan OBE

2007      Anne Eyre

2008      Tony Thompson

2009      Not presented

2010      Tony Moore and Bill Blake

2011      Dr Walter Ammann and Peter Jefferson

2012      Roger Young

2013      Oliver Stallworthy

2014      Sarah Alcock

2015      Alan Clark

2016-2018 Not presented as yet.